The Lake Kaniere Boat Club held its first Regatta at the Lake on New Year's Day 1927. The first event, a Motor Boat Race, over two miles attracted five competitors. This was won by the "Dorothy" owned by Captain Cantrick. The top speed was around 20 miles per hour. Even in those early years club members were prepared to travel away to events as well as racing with other motor boats at Moana on Lake Brunner and on the Grey River at Greymouth and boats from those venues also raced at Lake Kaniere.

Shortly before the Second World War a meeting was held at Hokitika and the present club, an entirely different organisation was formed. As there were a number of yachts using the lake it was decided to form a combined club which was known as the Lake Kaniere Yacht and Power Boat Club. The Club was registered as an Incorporated Society on 20th December 1940. The combined club worked very well in the years to follow although yachts are no longer a part of the club. Club records have only a small number of Officials recorded which testifies to the long service given by those who did take office.


Club Days TBA




Lake Kaniere is a 15 minute drive from Hokitika.


Hans Bay Campsite

Overlooking the boat racing course at Hans Bay, Lake Kaniere.
Includes grassed area, water supply and toilets.
Free kitchen facilities available in the Boat Club.


Upcoming Events

NZ Nationals


Lake Kaniere Regatta 2024
The 2024 Lake Kaniere Regatta is being held at Hans Bay, Lake Kaniere on 30th and 31st March 2024.
This year Kaniere will be host to the national titles.
The costings for this Regatta are listed below:
Juniors entry: $60
Standard entry: $150
Crane fee: $200
Late fee: $100
Entries will not be accepted without payment. Late entry fee of $100 will be enforced.
Online Payment: Westpac 03-0850-0013107-00 (please use your name & boat name as reference)
If paper entry form required please contact Sharrie Kelly
Phone: 027 738 7528
Email: LKPBCSecretary@yahoo.com
Manual Entry forms are by request only.
Entries close 14th March 2024 at 11.59pm.

If you wish to take part, log in or register as a Driver